Until people found out I was pregnant I had a horrible time socially. I'm taking college classes at FGCU, so when I started going there most of my high school friends dropped me. When I couldn't party anymore, even more people started ignoring my calls. I spent most of the latter half of my pregnancy in the house by myself while my boyfriend was "enjoying his freedom before the baby".
Even people at FGCU gave me weird looks and wouldn't speak to me. I got a lot of stares and whispers. At the end of month 8 I finally started telling people (although I thought it was pretty obvious) and then school really got fun. They weren't judgmental at all and they were a little relieved that the ice was broken.
I'm not sure what the moral of that story was, but just know it will get better.
When you're feeling lonely everyone says "make new friends". Not so easy when you're pregnant. Try going on MeetUp.com and find some groups to join. It'll get you out of the house and find people with common interests.
No comments:
Post a Comment